Baby Brady Bird’s Shower

Wowzers did I have a fun packed weekend! I’m so blessed to have such great friends and such a wonderful family. While it sometimes is rather hectic (read: alarm went off at 7:45am both Sat and Sun), I absolutely love it and wouldn’t trade it for the world!

Saturday was Megan’s Baby Shower on Camp Pendleton (she married an amazing Marine a little over three years ago). Her three friends (all military wives) threw such an amazing shower! I am NOT one for strange games and talking about husbands and babies… but seriously, it was amazing. These women live such a different life than I do and I am so grateful for all of them. When it comes down to it, I would make an awful military wife. Thank God that there are amazingly strong and beautiful women who make our troops so incredibly happy. They are all some of the most amazing women on this planet. Oh, and I had a BLAST!

As soon as we entered the door we were given a little clip to wear on our shirts. If you said the word “baby” and someone heard, they stole your clip. If you had a few clips accumulated, then you lost all of them to whomever caught you. The trick to this game? STAY QUIET. hahha. it is so so hard to be at a baby shower and not utter the word baby! This game lasted until the end of the shower at which time I was littered with clips (read: I win!).

Fun Baby Shower Time!

Fun Baby Shower Time!

We played a few other games including the string game (you cut a piece of string to guess how big Momma’s belly is). I did awfulat this at my boss’ baby shower and basically thought she was twice as large as she was. So this second time, I went much smaller and was the runner up (so close!). We played another with play dough where we had five minutes to make “babies” and then the Momma chose which she liked best. Man, I was awful at this game! haha but it was a lot of fun!! Also, and most disgustingly, albeit- hilarious game that we played was the poopy diaper one. There were 6 diapers being passed around with mushed up and melted chocolate candy bars inside of them. You had to sniff them and guess what candy they were (each person had a piece of paper and we wrote down what we thought it was). Well, seeing that I don’t eat chocolate… I was horrendous at this game haha. I also have a substantially high gag reflex (meaning I’ll never be able to change diapers, sorry babe ;)) so I thought I was going to throw up half of the time. But man, it was hilarious and actually a lot of fun!

We ate wonderful sandwiches, dip, veggies and a phenomenal cake! A woman on base makes all of these cakes… she’s so gifted! How cute was Megan’s Jungle theme!?

The top left picture is Meg on her wedding day with her bridesmaids. Bottom right is all of us together again to celebrate Baby Bird!

The top left picture is Meg on her wedding day with her bridesmaids. Bottom right is all of us together again to celebrate Baby Bird!

Truly, it was such a wonderful afternoon with a bunch of amazing women! Megan, congrats on your baby boy and beginning your family! I can’t wait to meet him and watch him grow up to be as wonderful of a man as your husband and brother.

Side Note: I’ve been scared out of ever having children. (Well, almost ever. Check back in in 5+ years)

Side Note #2: I’m now two for two at winning a game at a baby shower! 😉 We won’t talk about the game I won at my boss’s!

2 responses to “Baby Brady Bird’s Shower

  1. Stumbled across your blog while I was going to write on Megan’s wall and decided to come and read your blog. I’m a serial blogger and have been for quite a few years now, but just started back up on blogspot.

    Thank you for those kind words about the party and my friends. We had such a blast meeting all of Megan’s friends from back home this weekend. It was such a pleasure meeting you and getting to know you all while we celebrated Megan, Brett, and Brady.

    Once again, thanks!

  2. awwww! love the pics! so cute!

Leave a Reply

