Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

Oh these were so much fun! As many of you know I’ve found a new obsession with baking! My mom surprised me with a new book: 500 Cupcakes by Fergal Connolly. While flipping through it I found the following recipe for Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes- just in time for my friend’s birthday. I altered the recipe a bit (ahem read: a lot). I’ll give you the real recipe and then let you know what I did. 🙂

I have no idea why this picture is turning- but I can't get it the right way

I have no idea why this picture is turning- but I can't get it the right way

500 Cupcakes by Fergal Connolly Recipe:

For the cupcakes:
1 cup (2 sticks) sweet butter, softened
1 cup superfine sugar
2 cups self-rising flour
1 tsp. baking powder
4 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
24 mini flat-bottomed wafer cups

For the frosting:
1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) sweet butter, softened
Pinch of salt
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 tbsp. colored sprinkles

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 24-cup mini muffin pan with paper baking cups. Combine all the cupcake ingredients in a large bowl and beat with an electric mixer until smooth and pale, about 2 to 3 minutes. Spoon the batter into the cups. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove pan from the oven and cool for 5 minutes. Then remove the cupcakes and cool on a rack. Peel off the paper baing cakes, and place the cupcakes inside the ice cream cones.

To make the frosting, beat the confectioners’ sugar, butter, and salt using an electric mixer. Add the cream and vanilla, and beat until smooth. Pipe the mixture in a swirl on top of the cupcake. Shake some sprinkles on top.

That all sounds great… but it also sounds like a lot of work. The girl who’s birthday this for is obsessed with Funfetti cake. Honestly, I would have done yellow cake instead, but it was her birthday, so it’s about her favorites not mine! 🙂 Check out my version below.

cupcakemosa

Heather’s Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes:

For the cupcakes:
Boxed cake mix (I used the Pillsbury Funfetti Premium Cake Mix)
Follow the directions on the back of the box (you’ll need 1 cup of water, 1/3 cup of oil and three whole eggs)
Cake Cones (24)

For the frosting:
2- 16 ounce containers of whatever frosting you want (I used Pillsbury Creamy Supreme Vanilla and Chocolate)
Sprinkles

Bake the cupcakes just like the box says. Allow the cupcakes to cool. Take a cone and put frosting around the inside of the cone (the top part of the cone where the squares are that you suck the little bit of ice cream out… you know what I’m talking about). This helps the cupcake stay. (Note: you can also but something else in the cylindar part of the cone. Someone suggested candy, or frosting, or actual ice cream… or you can leave it empty.) Next, take one cupcake and remove the wrapper. Stick cupcake into the cone. Frost all around- the sides and on top- be very generous with the frosting- that’s why you have two packs of it. (The majority of the cupcake sits on top of the cone.) Add sprinkles… wallah!

Happy Cupcake Baking!

3 responses to “Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

  1. Can I tell you that I have that exact same book?!? My mother in law gave it to me as a Christmas present last year and I had yet to open it!! OH MY GOSH! Thank you for showing me how amazing that book can be.

  2. Inspiration Necessary

    hahhaha so funny!! Definitely open it up! My mom tagged a page and wrote “Blake” on it (my boyfriend)… it was a page of cheesecake cupcakes… he’s obsessed with cheescake. Gotta love moms!

  3. oh my lanta! must make cupcakses! 🙂

Leave a Reply

